Effective November 1, 2017 the California Avocado Commission Board of Directors will be comprised of 19 individuals serving as producers, handlers and public members.  The state’s avocado growing region is currently broken down into five districts, with two producer members and one alternate producer members elected to serve each district for a total of 15 growers on the board (10 members and 5 alternate members). In addition, there are two handler members, one alternate handler members, along with one public member. Each seat on the board serves a two-year term, unless the seat is affected by redistricting, with expiring members terms alternating so that there is continuity from one board to the next.

The annual CAC General Election will be held in October 2017. The Summary of Open Seats (below) lists the seats that shall be filled in the the upcoming election, which includes one producer member and one producer alternate seat for each of the five districts. Interested producers shall declare their willingness to serve on the CAC Board as a representative of the district their grove is located. After the election tally, the candidates that receive the highest vote totals will be offered seats on the Commission, with the candidate receiving the highest number of votes, in each district, offered first choice of the respective seats available (member or alternate) within that district. In addition to the producer seats, one handler alternate member seat is also available. Elected individuals shall serve a two-year term, ending on October 31, 2019.

Summary of Open Seats

The nomination packets for producers and handlers are also available.

Should you have any questions regarding the election process, or serving as a commissioner, please contact April Aymami at (949) 341-1955 or aaymami@avocado.org.